Lowcountry Boil is a Southern Thrill Ride

Lowcountry Boil

By: Susan M. Boyer

Copyrite September 18,2012

Publisher: Henerey Press

 

Private Investigator Liz Talbot is a modern Southern belle: she blesses hearts and takes names. She carries her Sig 9 in her Kate Spade handbag, and her golden retriever, Rhett, rides shotgun in her hybrid Escape. When her grandmother is murdered, Liz high-tails it back to her South Carolina island home to find the killer. Sheโ€™s fit to be tied when her police-chief brother shuts her out of the investigation, so she opens her own. Then her long-dead best friend pops in and things really get complicated. When more folks start turning up dead in this small seaside town, Liz must use more than just her wits and charm to keep her family safe, chase down clues from the hereafter, and catch a psychopath before he catches her.

 

This is the first book in a new series by Susan M. Boyer… If you’re a fan of Dame Agatha Christie you will love this book. The number of players, suspects, second string players and assorted family members who take part in this performance will boggle your mind.

Thankfully we the readers are supplied with a list of the cast and their positions. I love the location for this murder, and Liz Talbot our lead heroine is a woman who has faced some real adversity and moved on to create a career for herself that is perfect for what is about to happen.

Liz is dragged home by the death of her beloved grandmother.ย  Her sister Merci feeds her what turns out to be a totally fabricated scenario which forces Liz (now the owner of her grandmother’s house and land)to take a roll in the management of the town and island. As the bodies start to stack up, Liz has to puzzle it all out, and her help comes from a surprising source.. The spirit of her best friend from childhood.

If I’ve made you half as dizzy as this book made me, then I’ve done my job. This book is going to keep you up late at night as you turn page after page to reach the surprising conclusion.

 

FTC Full Disclosure: I received this book from the publisher who only asked for a fair and impartial review.

7 Comments

Filed under Paranormal Cozy

7 responses to “Lowcountry Boil is a Southern Thrill Ride

  1. “Low Country Boil” sounds like a book I might enjoy. It reminds me of Carolyn Hart’s, Bailey Ruth.

  2. NoraAdrienne, I’m so happy you liked it! Thank you so much for the lovely review! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Ellen, I’m so pleased that it reminds you of Carolyn Hart’s Bailey Ruth books–I love those. In fact, I love them so much I asked Carolyn for a cover quote, which, happily, she gave me. I’m very proud of that cover quote! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Congratulations, Susan. I’m always looking for new mystery series and Low Country Boil sounds like something I’d love to read. I’m off to check it out.

  4. I was fortunate enough to get an advanced copy of Lowcountry Boil and I loved it! Liz Talbot is now one of my favorite heroines. I can’t wait to read more. Congrats, Susan!

  5. Thanks so much, Terri! Another new favorite series of mine is the Rose Strickland mysteries. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Pingback: NoraAdrienne’s Reviews |