Review and Giveaway – Sunrise on Cedar Key by Terri DuLong

The contest is closed and the winner of my copy of Sunrise on Cedar Key is….. Elle Hyson

 

Congratulations and don’t forget to contact me so I can send you your book.

 

Nora

 

 

 

Sunrise on Cedar Key

By: Terri Dulong

Copyright: November 2011

Publisher: Kensington Fiction

For the second time in ten years, Grace Stone is starting over on Cedar Key. Grace first moved to the serene island to escape a disastrous relationship. Now a visit with her Aunt Maude is interrupted by unwelcome news: Grace’s apartment and coffee shop have been destroyed by fire.

Grace is devastated, yet ever-practical Maude has a plan. While she helps Grace resettle, Maude even has a business venture in mind—weekend knitting retreats where women can craft, chat, and support one another.

But other surprises await her, including the return of Grace’s estranged sister, and a tentative romance with the local bookstore owner. Knitting together her past and future will mean untangling the painful threads Grace left behind. But the result could be a vibrant new life—and the courage to live it fully. . .

Gracie is visiting her aunt Maude to help her with her move to Cedar Key.  She is awakened at 5:30 am by the insistent ringing of her cell phone.  She is barely awake when Jim Jacobs the town’s Fire Chief informs her that her apartment and the coffee shop under it have been totally destroyed by fire. This is NOT what she wants to hear this early in the day.  All she has left are the clothes she brought to her aunt’s house.  She is distressed and overwhelmed by the enormity of this abrupt change to her life.

Aunt Maude offers to let Gracie live in the upstairs apartment at her new house until she finds other quarters and also explains that she wants Gracie as a partner in her new business venture. So with all these things reverberating through her head, she and her aunt finish packing aunt Maude’s belongings and hit the road for Cedar Key.

Grace and her sister have not and do not get along.  Finding out that Mrs. Perfect is separated and getting divorced, AND moving to Cedar Key is putting a lot of strain on Gracie’s ability to plan what and how she is going to get things back on track.

This is a story about family, reconciliation, love, new business ventures, and a large box of tissues.  Terri DuLong has the gift for pulling you into the world of her story with her storytelling.  I felt like I was in the room with the characters and witnessing their lives first hand.

FTC Full Disclosure: This book was supplied by the publishers in hopes of a fair and impartial review.

CONTEST

I am offering my review copy (very gently used) as a giveaway to let one person share in my enjoyment of this story and Ms. DuLong’s writing. Terri DuLong has graciously agreed to send the winner of Sunrise on Cedar Key an autographed and personalized bookplate for their book.

To enter, leave a comment telling us why you can’t wait to read Sunrise on Cedar Key. You must leave a valid e-mail address in the comment box with your comment (it would also be nice if you became a follower of my site but it’s not necessary to enter).  Please break it up using (at) and (dot), like domain (at) host (dot) com.  This is only open to US & Canada mailing addresses—sorry, no international entries this time!  Contest ends on Friday Nov. 11th , 2011 at 6pm EST.  Winner will be notified by e-mail and has 2 days to respond.  The book will be shipped directly from the publisher. The winner will be chosen by using random.org to make things fair.

14 Comments

Filed under book reviews, Contest Giveaway

14 responses to “Review and Giveaway – Sunrise on Cedar Key by Terri DuLong

  1. I can’t wait to read Sunrise on Cedar Key because I’m new to Terri’s books. I’ve developed a great passion for reading over the past two years so I would love to read this book.

    Pam
    vanillaorchids69(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. I’m glad you enjoyed my new story and thank you so much for a great review!

  3. This sounds like a great book. Mother (84yo) and I are both knitters and readers. This book has it all. We would love to be able to read this one.

    Dena
    rauchfd at gmail dot com

  4. Marla

    I can’t wait because I read the first 2 books of this series and loved them.

  5. Sharon

    I would love to read this book. Looks very interesting.

  6. Sherri

    Just looking at the cover of your book makes me want to pull out the knitting needles and knit away. I’ve never read any of you books, but this looks like a great read.

    sherriburleson@att.net

  7. Sounds like Aunt Maude has a plan that works. Would love to do a retreat someday, maybe even learn to knit. Thanks for the chance to win this.

    Terry

    TerryParrish 2010 (at) hotmail (dot) (com)

  8. Linda McFarland

    I am looking forward to reading more about Grace & her life in Cedar Key…love to win a copy of ‘Sunrise on Cedar Key by Terri DuLong…………………babyruthmac16@yahoo.com

  9. Elle Hyson

    Love to read, love to knit, would love to win “Sunrise on Cedar Key”.

  10. Amanda

    I am new to Terri’s books, and new to knitting. I did go on a scrapbooking retreat last month, though. This sounds like my kind of book and I am very anxious to read it!

  11. I come from a BIG family. We, siblings, are all grown now and live in several different states. I miss all the family interaction and just love to read about other people’s families. I think I would love your book. I know i would love to win it! ;o)
    bettysunflower at hotmail dot com

  12. Georgiann Hennelly

    I am new to Terri;s books but this sounds like an interesting read

  13. Linda

    Sounds like a great book and I can’t wait to read about Cedar Key.

  14. Congratulations Elle You are our winner!